Security vulnerability disclosure: Who can be relied upon?

Share it

Reliable disclosure of security vulnerabilities: Whom can you depend on?

Cybersecurity integrity hinges on credible sources for security vulnerability information. This piece provides insights into whom to rely on for such critical data.

In 1999, MITRE Corporation, a government-sponsored research and development entity, recognized the necessity for a standard framework for reporting and tracking software security flaws. Collaborating with the IT sector, MITRE introduced CVE (Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures) as a solution. Today, CVE stands as the universally recognized standard for reporting security vulnerabilities.

The landscape of software bug reporting has evolved since 1999, with serving as a central hub for disseminating information on software security vulnerabilities, structured similarly to the visual representation at the beginning of this blog.

To comprehend this structure and the vulnerability reporting process, it is essential to grasp the definitions and mechanisms involved. For more information, refer to CVE Program Organization Structure.

Key Definitions

  • CPE – Common Platform Enumeration
  • CVE – Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures
  • CVSS – Common Vulnerability Scoring System
  • CWE™ – Common Weakness Enumeration
  • CNA – CVE Numbering Authority
  • CNA-LR – CVE Numbering Authority of Last Resort
  • Root – Authorized Root organization
  • TL-Root – Top Level Root
  • ADP – Authorized Data Publisher
  • CISA – Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency
  • MITRE Corporation – Government-affiliated research and development center

Six entities participate as special CVE Root contributors, encompassing government bodies from the US, Spain, and Japan, alongside MITRE, Google, and Red Hat, among others.

For a more precise understanding, the concept of a “Z-stream” in Red Hat products denotes the version numbering system, allowing for streamlined classification of updates.

Vulnerability Reporting

The process of security vulnerability reporting typically unfolds through a series of six primary steps:

  1. Discovery
  2. Reporting
  3. Requesting
  4. Reserving
  5. Submitting
  6. Publishing

Following publication, CVE Records become accessible for public viewing and downloading, ensuring transparency in the disclosure of vulnerabilities. For further details, visit CVE Process Overview.

Bug Tracking

Organizations often enlist auditors to conduct comprehensive scans of their IT systems to identify security vulnerabilities. Auditors rely on reputable data sources for accurate vulnerability information.

As a CVE Numbering Authority (CNA), Red Hat serves as a premier source for vulnerability data within the open-source domain associated with Red Hat products. Red Hat maintains comprehensive repositories of security and CVE data, aiding auditors in conducting thorough security scans.

Security discrepancies may arise when auditors categorize vulnerabilities as critical, contrasting with Red Hat’s nuanced classification system of moderate, important, and critical vulnerabilities. Instances of false positives can emerge when scanners overlook backported bug fixes or inaccurately flag components linked to libraries with known vulnerabilities.

When discrepancies occur between scanner findings and the Red Hat CVE repository, it is advisable to prioritize Red Hat’s authoritative data, either directly through their security repository or via, a central aggregator of CNA data. Red Hat’s robust security protocols and commitment to vigilance make them a trusted source within the industry.

Upholding precise cybersecurity standards necessitates relying on accurate information. Place your trust in Red Hat as a dependable and authoritative source.

Explore more on Red Hat Security

🤞 Don’t miss these tips!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

🤞 Don’t miss these tips!

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin